I really enjoyed the premiere. I am constantly amazed at how well a show on MTV is written and acted out, especially since I am old enough to remember when MTV was actually about music videos. I can't wait to see where the show goes from here.
Well, it's the mind behind Criminal Minds, so I know Jeff Davies totally has the chops to want great stuff for his show and I think the set-up of Teen Wolf works well with the MTV target audience. There's still sometimes stuff of course that makes me go 'MWAH' and I do hope that after this mythology powered and introductory premiere they rewind a little and give us some backstory on what happened when everyone (almost) died and the personnel shifts get on, but I'm really stoked that this particular show was able to come out in its forth season with such an intriguing season arc bit that I can't wait to see more of (but I do want Tyler Hoechlin back, stat, for the record!)
I didn't hate the premiere, but I wasn't totally squeeing either. Too much of an infodump episode for me. And I hope at some point this season there will be obvious repercussions from things that happened last season (Allison's death, whatever Stiles must be feeling after the things the nogitsune made him do, etc.).
Yes and YES definitely in need of some throwback to tie into what happened with that, since they also obviously implied a lot of advance in the story between Stiles and Malia (which, yeah, I don't hate but I'm really hoping will not be the front runner of Stiles' character arc this season) and them acquiring some knowledge about the werewolf-hunter world that... huhm? (Especially since I keep imagining I hallucinated that the Spanish matriarch was Chris Argent's mum, that DID happen right? I'm really going to have to go back and check).
However, I was really taken with the awesome Southern flare style in the cinematography that brought a nice freshness to the drodden out small-town-Cali look and I really like that they're breaking into another underused international mythology with the Inca/Aztec approach. So it just got me excited for the new season (even though it's really weird because it feels like we just watched the finale a couple of days ago...).
(no subject)
Date: 2014-06-24 12:40 pm (UTC)(no subject)
Date: 2014-06-24 04:13 pm (UTC)(no subject)
Date: 2014-06-28 02:04 am (UTC)I didn't hate the premiere, but I wasn't totally squeeing either. Too much of an infodump episode for me. And I hope at some point this season there will be obvious repercussions from things that happened last season (Allison's death, whatever Stiles must be feeling after the things the nogitsune made him do, etc.).
(no subject)
Date: 2014-06-28 05:19 am (UTC)However, I was really taken with the awesome Southern flare style in the cinematography that brought a nice freshness to the drodden out small-town-Cali look and I really like that they're breaking into another underused international mythology with the Inca/Aztec approach. So it just got me excited for the new season (even though it's really weird because it feels like we just watched the finale a couple of days ago...).