mangacat201: (Default)
[personal profile] mangacat201
*Pops up* .... *looks around* .... Wow.. seriously guys, the absolute lack of any episode reaction posts lately makes me wanna put one out just for the sake of having it. So, well here you go but beware the SPOILERS right?


Anyway, on 'Mannequin 3: The reckoning' - first that title? Yeaaaaah, it sums about up what I feel about this episode. In some ways it's absolutely hint-tastically brilliant, in others it's just pop-culture trash that's barely bearable.
There's a lot of things I loved about this episode, but some others that make me go meeeeh.

Monster of the Week - classic MotW plot and I have to say, the moving eyes? Crreeeeeeeeeeeeeeeepy. Reminded me a bit of Playthings which was fun. And the girl with the haunted kidney? Well, to say it with Dean's words 'Just when you think you've seen it all'. The plot was half-assed in places, but I really didn't mind that so much with the Impala staring as a sex doll and the great, artsy spins the MotW layout put on the boys' relationship, what with sisters that'd do anything for each other and the like. Also the great moral dilemas that make the Winchester world rock are sometimes so simple yet...

Lisa & Ben - thought Lisa looked gorgeously unhappy there, first time I EVER actually took her for a 'hunter's wife' or well, someone who'd been touched by the life and took her scars home from it. Also the first time I actually believed her for what she had with Dean. Strange as that sounds. Ben, well, HE'S a piece of work, but despite Dean's firm resolve to be a self-sacrificing sanctimonious little bitch and keeping him out, I think - I hope - we'll be seeing more of him along the road. And he opened a can or worms that's been rotting in Dean's backseat far too long, too. I love the boy. Family Matters.

Dean - well, he was .... so much himself that it was like a slap in the face, but a good one I mean. With everyone going on about how they loved or loathed soulless!Sam because he was so different and off and so much Not Sam ... little did we notice how much Dean hasn't been DEAN this half season without his awesome little brother to play off of. It's chivalry, it's manpain, it's psychotherapist Winchester school, it's protector, father, brother, saviour of the world and still hung up on the lives of one instead of many. And boy, did he ever grow UP. I like you Dean Winchester, you are made of the stuff. (and it really really doesn't help that Jensen gets prettier every fricking week.)

Sam - oh dear, that one's a hard nut to crack. After last week's final 'OMG OMG FUCK OMG' I knew that we wouldn't get the great boom and all - 'tis not the time of the season - yet. But burning fire in Sam's eye, it opens up a whole different kind of possiblity. Satan's left the building heh... did he now. But I think we'll have to stew in that one till the finale either way, so for the moment I'm just going to let it lie. Another thing that's more important...

THE BITCH(Face) IS BACK.

Seriously, how much did we miss those expressive features that ripple through frowns and wrinkles that tells us stories without a single word? I never noticed it so much before, really, how did we ever go without? I mean, I loved Soulless!Sam for the way he put a new spin out (Sam's always went unusual paths with the growing up thing...) but the new!old!Sammy. He's just... I wanna pinch his cheeks and awww and then sigh in contentment. And pep talking his brother on the big picture and overrated normalcy. My my, the world has took a spin, has it. Since college dorms and all that.

Ah well, all in all I have to say, season six, I'm lovin' it. Keep going, right up to number seven.
Cat

(no subject)

Date: 2011-02-19 11:25 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] darkestnight01.livejournal.com
I love your review <33

I'm right there with you in everything :)

I've never posted a review before, because I have no idea how to explain all the things going through my mind when I've watched it XD

(no subject)

Date: 2011-02-19 02:48 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] mangacat201.livejournal.com
Well, I'm not THAT big on reviews either, but I like to browse what other people think and stuff. I'm more of the comment-review kinda girl. But it's really fricking noticable how little I've heard from anyone over ANY of the new episodes. I mean, it's like ghost town with the rolling desert gras... has fandom gone Cold Oak, or what? So I felt the need to give two cents for others to make five. *g*
Cat

(no subject)

Date: 2011-02-19 02:59 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] darkestnight01.livejournal.com
hehehe, I got some reviews in my flist, thank god, and most of them said the same - ep was okay, BUT CAN WE HAVE NEXT WEEK ALREADY? XD

(no subject)

Date: 2011-02-19 03:34 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] mangacat201.livejournal.com
OH MY GOD, I'm going to love it so much even though I'm going to hate it too. But I'll love it more.

Erm.. sry, spoiler don't read on if you don't know...





TOTaLLy WORTH TEH WIVES. Totally. I mean, seriously, when do you get a full hour special of how to make a TV-show and IN CHARACTER? it'S going to be the blast of AWESOME.
Cat

(no subject)

Date: 2011-02-19 04:12 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] darkestnight01.livejournal.com
I LOVE THIS EP ALREADY AND I CAN'T WAIT TO SEE IT! I've watched that preview a million times already and I'm laughing my ass off every single time XD

(no subject)

Date: 2011-02-20 09:47 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] blondie-lottie.livejournal.com
This review! Totally. Everything!

I adore Ben, I get why people have had some bad reactions to his comments to Dean but he's only a kid and really? He's just trying to express himself in a way that gets his point across, poorly worded in some ways I know but he's just young and they conveyed that really well I think. I adore Ben and I really hope that he comes back again.

And OMFG! You are so right about the whole Dean aspect. I'd not thought about it like that until then. I mean sure, I'd been thinking about how this episode he was better, more Dean like but you summed it up perfectly.

So yeah, perfectly put!

(no subject)

Date: 2011-02-20 10:11 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] mangacat201.livejournal.com
YES... I mean, I wrote Ben into my first big bang before the Lisa-thing even showed up again in season five (and I was not really happy about THAT much) and the way he is now feels so much like MY Ben that it's eerie but good. I really wanted Dean to sort out the family thing because he's got a new set of obligations now and since he lived there like a well boyfriend and father Ben has the fricking right to demand that he act like one in my book. Granted Winchester-patchworking was ever going to have a more interesting spin, but in the end it's about family as it always was, just in a new generation. I like that Dean has to face this and that his character has new openings because of that.
I can't wait to see them working their magic on it. This is what makes season six worth it and RIGHT to have not just as an extension of the 'five-year-plan' but as a logical and powerful new arc in it's own right.
Cat

(no subject)

Date: 2011-02-20 10:38 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] blondie-lottie.livejournal.com
Oh goodness now I must go re-read your BB and remind myself!

I agree, what Ben was trying to say was not "Leave Sam and choose us. End of." but more of a "You came into our lives and you can't just leave and think that is that."

If anything, and I'm not sure what others think about this, Ben was almost a Sam substitute in some ways for Dean during that year. The whole father figure routine must be so ingrained into Dean's psyche that he couldn't help but make Ben feel like that he had a Dad for a year. And to just take that away? Well of course Dean is going to have to deal with it! I agree, Ben has the right to demand that of Dean, sure Lisa and he can talk about it like rational adults but it's not like Ben has got their wisdom or experience to understand this from their points of view.

So his demands were only his way of saying "I love you like a Dad. I need you to be here."

As much as I was concerned during the first half of Season 6 that I was going to need to really re-watch all of the episodes to feel comfortable with what was happening, I finally get it. This really is a whole new arc and a whole new set of problems and opportunities for the boys. I'm really looking forward because this could go any number of ways.

Profile

mangacat201: (Default)
mangacat201

April 2020

S M T W T F S
   1234
567891011
12131415161718
19 202122232425
2627282930  

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags