mangacat201: (Default)
[personal profile] mangacat201
Hello dear Flisties...

Yes, I am in fact alive (and it does feel a little like I'm living about nine lives at the same time at the moment) and since there's not much fic posting going on, I've decided to use this journal as the blog it was supposed to be in the meantime. Don't fear, I won't turn it into a runtime diary, my live isn't THAT exciting, but I feel like some stuff has accumulated, and I just want to write about it so feel free to skim, read, comment, whatever.

University - well, as some of you know, I'm finishing my studies at Uni this year and it's proving to be just as hard as I expected it to be, but right now I'm really stretched thin to the point of just wanting it to be over, no matter what grade actually comes out at the end. That's quite a scary thought since this will be the results of the last five years of my life (totally doesn't feel that way) and my graduation into professional life and it should mean more to me, right? And it does, deep down under all the exhaustion where I tell myself to just put in a bit more, just pull the effort one more time but it's difficult to scrounge up the energy at this point. I guess anybody would get to that point sometime, while studying from one all important final exam to the next for a year now, but my studies used to be FUN as well as work and I would kind of like to leave uni with that feeling intact. Well, only two hours of oral exams with all in all twelve topics (which is complete bullshit didactically speaking but whatever) in three weeks and a sixty-page thesis paper to tackle in two months stand between me and freedom. There's light at the end of the tunnel.

America - despite the recent news about some pretty damn unbelievable politescapades in the States, I haven't given up on my plans for a lengthy stay in the sweet U S of A, but I won't have news on that matter until mid April the earliest (I count more on beginning May more like)  so hold your thumbs that I'll be chosen to go, alright?

Singing - I have no idea whether I said that somewhere public, but I've been to a competition for young musicians this year. Against all expectations I managed to ace regionals with a first prize and get a ticket to the statewide competition which was O_O for this cat. State's was yesterday and if I'd sung like I did in warm up, I would have gone to nationals, but there's nerves and moments and it wasn't as good as I know I could have been (if I was in a room alone with my pianist and had no idea that the jury was listening and all *g*). It turned out to be a good second prize, which was entirely fair for what I delivered, so I'm proud for getting further than I've ever gone in the competition and that I made it among the eight best of my state in my age group and that I didn't have to hide from the others, so yes, I think it's a win.

Family - actually... no I'd rather not think about it. The more I think about it, the more time I waste on the problem and time is something I don't have in the slightest.

Writing - Well, the reason for being such a no show here aside from exams and all that RL shit is that I've registered for both [livejournal.com profile] spn_j2_bigbang and  Crossbigbang and I'm trying to get at least one challenge done in time for the deadline, so no posting till then. I have not forgotten however, the other fic that is waiting for my attention, so I'll be returning to Dark Knight's Heir and maybe some Versing when the worst shit has blown over. Wish me luck.
Over and out.
Cat

(no subject)

Date: 2011-04-04 08:58 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] nrrrdy-grrrl.livejournal.com
Things here blow. xo

(no subject)

Date: 2011-04-04 09:04 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] mangacat201.livejournal.com
Yes, I noticed... I think there are some American politicians in dire need for a little education in world history. But preaching to the choir, neeeh? *sigh* Anyways, it's not all bad. I'll have a lot of my flisties closer LOL. and REAL TIME TV.
Cat

(no subject)

Date: 2011-04-05 06:48 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] mangacat201.livejournal.com
OHHHH... really? come here *gathers up in big soft cat's paws* squeeeeeeezzzzzeeee.
Cat

(no subject)

Date: 2011-04-05 08:56 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] nrrrdy-grrrl.livejournal.com
Aw! Kitty!!!! I have a big smile now!

(no subject)

Date: 2011-04-05 09:29 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] mangacat201.livejournal.com
Lol... your icon is just as good, I have to say ... and I thought it would make it better. Do you want to talk about it? I could have a chat... any excuse to procrastinate and get away from Brecht for a few more minutes (though Brecht is not so bad really. but... it's work.)
Cat
Edited Date: 2011-04-05 09:30 am (UTC)

(no subject)

Date: 2011-04-05 11:42 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] mangacat201.livejournal.com
yes
he's one of my exam topics for modern lit.
Cat

(no subject)

Date: 2011-04-05 12:54 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] mangacat201.livejournal.com
Yeah well, I'd like him better if I didn't have to study the stuff for exams (but then I like everyone better that way) but yes, he has an interesting didactic approach, packing up the moral stuff in the dramas and whacking people over the head with it to get them thinking. There are worse ways to learn some social consciousness. Plus i like that he didn't let himself be dissuaded from his personal political views even though everyone cried bloody murder when he went back to live in the DDR.
Cat

(no subject)

Date: 2011-04-05 01:05 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] nrrrdy-grrrl.livejournal.com
I have almost ruined many a fine thing by studying it for school. I wrote a huge paper about Wolverine and learned my lesson. So to speak.

(no subject)

Date: 2011-04-05 01:17 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] mangacat201.livejournal.com
yes... I can read a lot for the enjoyment of having read it, but if you have to go into interpretations of the scientific kind, the disillusionment is... staggering. Also, literary science in German is a loooooot different from the same thing in English. I notice that a lot since I'm preparing for both at the same time

(no subject)

Date: 2011-04-05 01:50 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] mangacat201.livejournal.com
LOl... I AM German... I study History, German and English at uni so I know both sides, but I like English literary studies a lot better. However, I German linguistics is more my thing... probably has something to do with the competence of the personell. *g*

(no subject)

Date: 2011-04-05 02:07 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] nrrrdy-grrrl.livejournal.com
I'm wowed by your English. And yr fangirl kitty.

(no subject)

Date: 2011-04-05 02:28 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] mangacat201.livejournal.com
Well, I've exclusively been reading fanfiction in English since graduation... six years ago. And trust me, I spend a LOT of my time reading fanfiction, so I figure something's gotta rub off after all. lol.. only started writing in English with supernatural at... well, around 2008 I guess. strange, I can't even imagine going back to writing in German. Not that I don't love my language and all, but I think I'm a better writer in English because of the distance (and great beta help) and probably because all the subjects are English in origin... I could imagine writing short original stuff or poetry in German though, 'Dichter und Denker' and all that... Well, I might be teaching young Americans about the coolness of the German language soon lol, that's going to be fun.
Cat

PS: You'll have to thank my lj-friend frozenglibber for the kitty, she let me snag it after we met at Asylum Europe last year and I've been going viral with it. *g*

(no subject)

Date: 2011-04-05 09:03 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] nrrrdy-grrrl.livejournal.com
Kitty!!!!!! Flail kitty flail!

Profile

mangacat201: (Default)
mangacat201

April 2020

S M T W T F S
   1234
567891011
12131415161718
19 202122232425
2627282930  

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags